The Cliff

by Alexandre Leclerc

We meet on the plain not far from the cliff. We talk a bit. She wants to walk with me, but I say I have to go.

I meet her there again a few years later. She was waiting for me. We talk some more. We start walking. She tells me she did walk with others while hoping for my return, but she never got too close to the edge.

Walking the edge between friendship and love with her is exhilarating. It’s beautiful. It’s scary. It’s dangerous. It’s exciting. Not knowing if one of us or both will fall. Not knowing what will happen if we do. Will we crash or fly?

Free fall.

Then flight.

Then lazy gliding to the valley below.

We settle. And now we’re setting our little explorers on their own paths, to find their own adventures. We’re thrilled and worried. A bit scared, too.

Then we remember that we were explorers too, once.

